Patikul (Cinemalaya 2011 Film Entry): Review

Posted on July 28, 2011

2


I was invited by some of my friends to watch with them Patikul. Directed by Joel C. Lamangan, the story revolves around an illiterate coffee farmer, Amman (Allen Dizon) helping his son, Fahad earn a good education in hopes for him to having a better future while facing the terrors and turmoils of the Abu Sayaff.

This is the second local independent film I’ve watched (since Senior Year) and the first film entry in Cinemalaya I’ve ever watched.  (Too bad I wasn’t able to watch RacknRoll since it was the same screening time and date for this)

The plot was pretty steady, from the introduction of the characters, to the resolution of the story.  It established well how troublesome life is in Sulu with the Abu Sayaff endangering everyone in the area.  Though there are some parts that I felt weren’t believable or made up, such as the P2 million ransom demand for the hostaged principal (played by Marvin Agustin). As if you can get 2 million from one person, and a principal at that. (I don’t actually know how it really is with ransom demands from the abu sayaff so I’m not sure with this).

I also felt that some scenes to stretch out a bit too long (I didn’t even realize it was more or less around 1 and a half hour).  Another issue of mine would be the editting of the movie. Some transitions would abruptly cut to the next scene all of a sudden, plus there were some parts that did not seem to provide enough reason for time passing by.

The best thing I could say about the film was the acting.  Allen Dizon’s portayal of the father was very impressive.  You can really feel the struggle he faces with the trouble the Abu Sayaff has been giving in the area, especially the school Fahad is attending which closes down as well as the passion and motivation to solve this predicament.  The rest of the cast also did a wonderful job.

Overall, despite its lack of proper editing and some dragging parts, Patikul is a fair film that provides encouragement to the audience that despite the overwhelming trouble and trials faced.  There is hope and there is always a way.

Posted in: Film, Reviews